&Follow SJoin OnSugar
Going to college and cooking with food allergies

Halloween candy suggestions for trick-or-treaters with food allergies

By Mandygm · October 12, 2010 · 0 Comments ·

Halloween Door Mat $39.00 at Pottery Barn Kids

Before you know it trick-or-treaters will be arriving at your door. Thankfully, my food allergies arrived after my trick-or-treating days were over! I loved sorting through the candy and figuring out which variety was the most popular for the year. I remember Reese's peanut butter cups and Snickers were usually the most popular. This is great for some people, but a bummer for kids with food allergies. Imagine having to come home, and not be able to eat all the candy you collected-bummer right? From what I have read, most parents of children with food allergies do not let their kids eat the candy because of the contamination risk. Most fun size varieties of candy are not allergen safe anyways.

If you wanted to pass out some allergy-friendly treats, I would recommend  Dots, Tootsie Rolls (not the type with the twisted paper wrapper), Twizzlers (not packaged with any chocolate), Gummie Savers, Laffy Taffy, Nerds, Sweet-tarts, and Junior mints. I noticed that Junior Mints are packaged in their box, and then wrapped in plastic, making them an especially good option. Another idea is to pass out non-food items such as rings or other little Halloween themed items. Stores like Target and Walmart usually have a good selection of these types of items on the Halloween aisle.


Filed in: halloween
Tagged with: halloween
posted by Nonny Sue

Thanks for the hints for the candy shopping, I never thought of the allergy trick or treaters.

posted by

I never thought of the food allergy trick-or-treaters either until I found out I had food allergies:) I forgot to mention skittles and smarties too

posted by Giuliana Hazelwood

Just keep in mind that Twizzlers and licorice contain wheat flour and are therefore not safe for children with Celiac and gluten intolerance!

posted by

Thank you for the information about Twizzlers. Wheat/gluten is one of the few foods that I am not allergic too, so I never knew that before. What an odd place for wheat!

If you are already an OnSugar member, or would like to receive email alerts as new comments are made, please login or register for OnSugar.
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.

About Me

  • Member for 6 years 34 weeks
  • Last online 4 years 23 weeks ago